Early years foundation stage planning

Little Blossoms Day Care Nursery

Where all the staff are carefully selected for their dedication and knowledge to looking after your children.


The Nursery has a very good and long running reputation. 

The staff here work at the highest standard and have excellent knowledge and dedication to the children whilst working as a team.

Curriculum in England

All nurseries in England are required to follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. Your child is unique – you know that! – and we use the EYFS framework to take every child’s unique qualities into account when planning their day.
Within the learning and development section of the EYFS there are seven areas of learning and development which we use to develop children's learning. Whilst all areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected, the framework splits the areas of learning into ‘Prime’ and ‘Specific’ areas.

Prime Areas of Learning and Development
The three prime areas reflect the key skills and capacities that all children need to develop and learn effectively, These three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.
These three areas, are:
• Communication and Language;
• Physical development; and
• Personal, Social and Emotional Development.
For our youngest children we focus strongly on the three prime areas, which are the basis for successful learning in the other four specific areas. As children grow in confidence and ability within the three prime areas the balance will shift towards a more equal focus on all prime and specific areas of learning.
Specific Areas of Learning and Development
We are also required to support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are developed and applied.
The specific areas are:
• Literacy;
• Mathematics;
• Understanding the World; and
• Expressive Arts and Design.
Each area of learning and development must be implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity. Play is essential for children’s development, building their confidence as they learn to explore, to critically think about problems, and relate to others. Children learn by leading their own play, and by taking part in play which is guided by adults.
We recognise each child’s emerging needs and interests, guiding their development through warm, positive interaction. As children grow older, and as their development allows, it is expected that the balance will gradually shift towards more activities led by adults, to help children prepare for more formal learning, 

In planning and guiding children’s activities, staff reflect on the different ways that children learn and reflect these in their practice.

Three characteristics of effective teaching and learning are:

• Playing and exploring - children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’;

• Active learning - children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements.

• Creating and thinking critically - children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things. “ Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage 2017.


We currently have 4 units, 0-2 years Caterpillar room, 2-3 years ladybird room 3 year old Dragonfly room and 3-5 years Butterflies room.


Children learn through play, we believe that children learn better when having fun and enjoying their play.


We aim to provide an environment where all children are safe by maintaining staff to children ratios, carrying out regular risk assessments and ensuring staff are trained to meet the health and safety of all children including safeguarding.


We work with parents to develop a good understanding of each child's needs and care plans.

Children's safety and happiness is our priority.